The Fulmerazzi

…a day in the life

Baby’s First Kenyan Marriage Proposal September 22, 2009

Filed under: Kenya,Uncategorized — Lauren Fulmer @ 8:12 am

Hey guys!

 

Thanks to everyone for reading and commenting/emailing me with support… with such limited internet time, it’s the easiest way to keep friends and fam updated!

 

Ok, so just a tidbit about my AWESOME safari last weekend before I dig into the real stuff in the next post. All I can really say is that it was hands-down one of the coolest experiences I’ve ever had! To describe it in a few phrases: Kenyan wilderness (5 hours from Nairobi),  hot pink and orange sunsets, off-roading in a safari van, being only a few feet from wild elephants, zebras, hyenas, monkeys, giraffe, hippos, and Lions, and camping in tents on the Maasai warrior’s land. No biggie! Just legit African warriors guarding our campsite at night. Imagine my shock when I’m walking to the campsite bathroom in the middle of the night and see a giant man in a red loincloth guarding the fire with a spear!

 

I’d like to take this opportunity to introduce you to Lauren Fulmer 2.0 : she hikes, camps, and is quasi-outdoorsy.  Ok, you can stop laughing now : )

 

One last silly story: a fellow Kenyan safari guide came up to our van and offered 100 cows for any of us girls. Excuse me, sir?! 100 cows? Either I need an ego check or my mama used to tell me I deserved the world… I just thought that was aiming a little low.

 

The convo went a little like this:

Safari Man: “ooohh, Mizungu (white) women…. I’d offer 100 cows for ANY of you! (giggles)”

Me: Let’s bargain here. It’ll take 100 cows and 200 oxen for me to even consider….

Safair Man: (without blinking an eye) “Too much.”

 

Well, I know where I stand. It was such an amazing experience to see Kenya outside of the slums and IDP camps. This country is breath-taking and such a great reminder of how creative God is : )

Cheers!

LF

 

PS: I probably dont need to even say this little disclaimer, but I want the friends and family that helped donate to my Kenya fundraiser to know that I’m a good steward of their money and this safari was 100% out of my personal funds! Probably silly to state it…. just wanted ya’ll to know!

 

2 Responses to “Baby’s First Kenyan Marriage Proposal”

  1. Uncle Bob Says:

    LP – Super proud of you. My small group has you in our constant prayers. What an awesome experience! What a blessing you and your team are to those people. May God bless you and keep you safe – and full of energy.

    Great Blog – love it.

    Take care – Uncle Bob

  2. Phil Owings Says:

    I’ll offer 200 cows, 200 goats and 1,000 chickens, but you have to marry Matt Wilson, Paul Laveder, Caleb Perrine or Jeff Owings. You get to pick.

    I am amazed at you girls. Mom and Dad have to be proud.


Leave a Reply

